Author Topic: Lunar Coins  (Read 10095 times)

Offline pecus

• Trade Count: (+1)
Lunar Coins
« on: August 20, 2008, 09:31:12 PM »
Although I came to the lunar series after the pandas, I have come to love the images on these coins just as much as those on the pandas.  Lunar coins offer the same or greater diversity and at least the same challenges in collecting.  I have also heard that this series is more valued among the Chinese themselves than the pandas, which is more of an "export" coin.

I'd be interested to know whether dedicated panda collectors harbor similar feelings about these great lunar coins.

Offline simpleman

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Lunar Coins
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 09:39:13 PM »
HI, i am still a beginner.... i have a question if other countries also issue any lunar coins?
« Last Edit: August 25, 2008, 09:42:00 PM by simpleman »

Offline BobW

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2008, 09:49:32 PM »
The Commonwealth of Australia, Canada, and the Republic of Malawi (Nyasaland) are three others that issue Lunar coins. There may be more.                        
« Last Edit: August 25, 2008, 09:52:31 PM by BobW »

alexwu

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2008, 11:40:28 PM »
Singapore, Vietnam, Hong Kong & Macao of China all issue lunar coins.   

Offline badon

« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2008, 09:53:35 PM »
Lunars have a lot of potential, but they're so rare and unknown that it's hard to say what they'll do in the future. Nonetheless, they have appreciated in value quite a bit, on par with the pandas. They're just very hard to buy and sell because they're so rare. There's no easy search terms for them on ebay, other than "lunar", which many sellers don't know to use.

Offline pecus

« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2008, 12:39:15 PM »
Where do members look for 5 oz and 12 oz silver lunar coins, especially difficult ones to find, such as the snake and pig coins?

alexwu

« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2008, 04:41:11 PM »