Poll

Generally how do you prefer the state of coins to be stored in your personal collection?

Original Packaging
27 (35.5%)
NGC holders
38 (50%)
PCGS holders
10 (13.2%)
Other
1 (1.3%)

Total Members Voted: 74

Author Topic: NGC vs. PCGS vs. Original Packaging: The Poll  (Read 28456 times)

Offline 25Grizzlies

• Trade Count: (+1)
Re: NGC vs. PCGS vs. Original Packaging: The Poll
« Reply #105 on: February 29, 2012, 01:56:36 AM »

[/quote]
A memorable quote from a Newbie (Chinese?) here: "Accept and enjoy them as they are" and I would add: even with some authentic red spot or snowball on it! Just store them the right way. Keep your money in your pocket, stay away from this corporate (and their links) "grading bubble". If eventually you sell, the buyer will pay and take the risk for what he wants/likes, not you. IMO.

I couldn't agree more... OMP for me.

Offline 25Grizzlies

• Trade Count: (+1)
« Reply #106 on: February 29, 2012, 03:17:09 AM »
I'm new to the Chinese market and am in awe of all you long time collectors and educators so please excuse my ignorance, this is but opinion and observation. 2 cents worth.

The more i think about getting my coins slabbed the more I think it will be with PCGS, especially if they soon offer a conservation service.  I'm still not 100% sure about conserving however and I wish they were more transparent about the process.  I'm OK with cleaning production films and grime off coins, as a painiting is cleaned when it gets too dirty, I think coins are Ok to be cleaned... but if I have a gem looking OMP coin I wouldnt bother getting it cleaned.

So on the PCGS/NGC holder debate it only aesthetics about the PCGS holders that guys on this forum don't like?  A simple case of preference?  Or do they stack funny or what?  I don't understand why the frame is crucial... I don't mind the looks of the PCGS edge view holders but haven't seen any in the flesh.