Author Topic: Inspiration to Collect  (Read 1244 times)

Offline KeepOnTrying!

• Supporter
  • Trade Count: (+23)
Inspiration to Collect
« on: September 11, 2016, 10:08:26 AM »
Inspiration to Collect

How does one know what collect? What sources of information are out there?

I found Mr. Anthony's book on Panda coins to be very useful when I started collecting. I also drew quite a lot of inspiration from the NGC coin registry: http://coins.www.collectors-society.com/registry/coins/public_sets.aspx?sets=world

I am not talking about how to make tons of money buying and selling coins. I am looking more at how new and the not so new self-taught collectors can identify coins and coin series that showcase important aspects of Chinese art, history, culture and technology. Important coins to have in one's collection or at least dream of having.

I am interested in members' views on the subject and suggestions.

Thanks.
KeepOnTrying and Never Give Up!
That lion is also after you!

Offline silverpv

• Supporter
  • Trade Count: (+9)
Re: Inspiration to Collect
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 01:48:40 PM »
For me, the design in number 1 and then the market history, then the history itself, what does it represent (a change in history, a transition, a legacy of something). The market history is not to make money buying and selling but just to reinforce the idea I'm not buying the collectible premium and losing it as soon as I buy it. Now that I'm caught up, its hard to find something new. I like the idea of exclusivity coupled with a good design and low mintage.