Author Topic: Need help determing if fake and identification  (Read 5797 times)

Offline Luna

• Trade Count: (0)
  • New
Need help determing if fake and identification
« on: January 07, 2016, 02:20:35 PM »
Hello,
I am somewhat new at collecting Chinese coins. I collected quit a few as a kid because I thought they looked interesting.

I am mainly needing help with several of them at determining if they are real. I didn't take a picture of the back of picture one. But, I am thinking most of them are real.
Picture 3 are the backs of pic 2 and I am thinking the copper one is fake because its copper and the indentations around rim and characters is quit deep.

I also noticed on some of them there looks like a resin stuck in parts of the characters. Could that indicate that they are fake as well?

Offline TomG

Re: Need help determing if fake and identification
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 01:55:25 PM »
Hello Luna,

Ancient Chinese coins were sometimes counterfeited beginning around the late 1960's but the varying colors and sizes among your shown specimens is actually a hopeful sign for authenticity. Mass produced counterfeit batches often arrive with homogeneous metal composition and same patina coloration. Sometimes reddish copper coins also imply the region from which the copper was sourced, e.g. famous red copper from Sinkiang Province. Higher copper content makes for a softer than bronze coin that wears and dents faster in circulation.

Authentic ancient coins are found in shipwrecks, excavated temple sites and the like. My paternal grandmother gave me under a hundred coins from the Northern Sung, Southern Sung and Tang Dynasties. Many were still stuck together with calcified water deposits and copper carbonates typical for the limestone mountain regions in which she grew up. There is even one from Annam, present day Viet Nam.