Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
This is true. In this case I didn't observe huge marketing or hype behind this first issue of eight in the series.
Depends on how much a unit appreciates. In this case they have more than doubled in value as things stand. (Limited sales data)

Just on a general basis many hyped coins “do well” initially but after the excitement dies down and the market movers have taken their profits the price trajectory invariably moves sideways.
Modern Chinese Medals / Re: CATTE aluminum Feng Yunming set
« Last post by fwang2450 on Yesterday at 11:14:42 PM »
That cuni set of 35th Anniversary is Proof. Yours may be the MS version.
Modern Chinese Medals / Re: CATTE aluminum Feng Yunming set
« Last post by pandamonium on Yesterday at 09:40:06 PM »
I get some negative comments and positive too on why anyone would want to buy Feng Yunming medals.     I have little experience....Correct me if i am wrong..

Feng medals are crude...   Some are but his are not official mint, mostly National Arts and Crafts...
Feng medals are very early year of MCC.. This is important as at least one opinion says he is the Grandfather of medals.   
Feng medals are cheap....for now yes, but so were some circ coins, republic, empire, etc... until Mr Sun's book came out.
Feng medals are only collected by few... yes, but many of those collectors are highly experienced and do not post here.
Feng medals are plentiful....no, they are low pop especially the non 5 silver sets, non gold horse.  Not enough buyers yet..

It is a good gamble to buy when MCC are early year and unknown.   Look at the 1988 Brass Pandas that were cheap and unknown until studied and information was published.  By then most were in hands of knowledgeable collectors/dealers that cashed in.