Author Topic: Is it ever premature?  (Read 1276 times)

Offline mmissinglink

• Trade Count: (0)
Is it ever premature?
« on: November 22, 2012, 01:31:09 PM »
Is it ever premature to have a coin or medal authenticated?

The question may seem strange, but let me explain what has prompted me to ask.

I am new to collecting coins and new to this forum, and while this is true, it's not hard to see that in this forum, there appears to be members who are exceptionally knowledgeable and their research on MCC is highly commendable. That to me indicates that we have some real experts on MCC and medals in this forum.

Yet, for some modern Chinese coins and medals, there still seems to be a lot of confusion on some of the important specifics of a coin / medal. This thread is certainly open to the examination of all such coins and medals, but I will use the Great Wall medal of the 1980's as a representative example of this point.

Some of the very informed members here who have commented on the Great Wall medal have used references to specialty books and other sources like auction house info and so forth which seem like very authoritative references for anybody to use, including experts and professional graders.

I have now read in different threads and comments here quite a bit about the Great Wall silver medal and there seems to still be great confusion (and this is in no way a judgement on the members because they are using the available references out there) as to the mintage numbers, numbers released, year produced, weight of the medal in question and so forth. One member even denoted how there appears to be several different variations of seal design of the Great Wall medal.

So, if for certain coins / medals even the available authoritative references can't give us definitive information, then how are graders from NGC or any other grading firm supposed to do any better.